Africa Cup of Nations

The Africa Cup of Nations is the main international association football competition in Africa. It is sanctioned by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), and was first held in 1957.
Since 1968, it has been held every two years. The title holders at the time of a FIFA Confederations Cup qualify for that competition.

As of 2013, the tournament was switched to being held in odd-numbered years so as not to clash with the FIFA World Cup.


Confederation of African Football (CAF)

1st edition

1957 Africa Cup of Nations





Egypt (6)Egypt (6)

Cameroon (5)Cameroon (5)

Ghana (4)Ghana (4)

Nigeria (3)Nigeria (3)

Algeria (2)Algeria (2)

Ivory Coast (2)Ivory Coast (2)

Zambia (2)Zambia (2)

Tunisia (1)Tunisia (1)

South Africa (1)South Africa (1)

Morocco (1)Morocco (1)

Congo (1)Congo (1)

Sudan (1)Sudan (1)

Congo Kinshasa (1)Congo Kinshasa (1)

Ethiopia (1)Ethiopia (1)

United Arab Republic (1)UAR (1)

This site uses cookies to offer you the best navigation. By continuing on, you accept the use of cookies. learn more